Anambra Assembly Confirms LG Council TC Chairmen, Councillors



Anambra State House of Assembly has confirmed twenty-one persons as Transition Committee chairmen for the twenty-one local government areas in the State.

The Transition Committee Chairmen were confirmed by the House alongside councilors for all the wards during yesterday’s plenary.

Our Correspondent was there and reports that the House confirmed their appointment in line with section two hundred and eight of the Local Government Law as requested by Governor Willie Obiano.

Among the twenty-one local government Transition Committee Chairmen confirmed by the House, are five new ones.

The Transition Committee Chairmen are to pilot the affairs of their various local government areas for three months.

The Speaker of the House, Mr. Uchenna Okafor read out their
confirmation while members of the House supported it through voice

Addressing the Chairmen, the Speaker charged them to ensure good administration in their various council areas and partner the state
government in the onerous task of moving the state forward.

He also asked them to monitor the rural development programme of the Obiano administration in their various council areas to achieve the
desired result.

In a vote of thanks, the Transition Committee Chairman, Idemili North
Local Government Area, Mr. Raphael Nnabuife assured that they will work together with the House and Executive Arm of government to attract dividends of democracy to their people.

In their separate speeches, the Transition Committee Chairman, Ogbaru Local Government Area, Hon. Arinze Awogu and his Ihiala counterpart, Mr. Greg Okafor said they will work hard to meet the
yearnings and aspirations of their people as well build cordial relationship with their representatives in the State House of Assembly in order to better the lot of their local government areas.

Also at plenary, a bill for a law to establish the Anambra State
Information and Communication Technology Agency 2019, sponsored by the Executive Arm of the Government scaled first reading.

Similarly, a bill for a law to establish Awka Capital Territory
Development Authority 2019 also passed first reading.

Leave a Reply