APC released Names of its Anointed Members as Principal Officers in the 9th Senate.


By: Joy Odor/Abuja

All Progressives Congress (APC) has released the names of its anointed members as the principal officers in the 9th Senate.

They are Senator Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa West), former Governor of Nasarawa State and chairman of Parliamentary Support Group for President Muhammadu Buhari, who emerged the Senate Leader and Senator Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo North) as the Deputy Senate Leader.

Others are Senator Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia North), former Abia State governor, who was named the Chief Whip and Senator Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North) as the Deputy Chief Whip.

Going by the appointed, the ruling APC zoned the Senate Leader to the North Central, Deputy Leader to the South West, Chief Whip to the South East while the North West got Deputy Chief Whip position.

In the 8th Senate, Abdullahi served as the chairman of the Committee on Agriculture and Boroffice as the chairman of Science and Technology.

The party is expected to formally write the Senate on its decision on or before Tuesday, July 2 when it would resume from the ongoing recess.

All the new principal officers are expected to be introduced during plenary on Tuesday after the Senate President, Dr. Ahmad Lawan must have read letters to that effect from their parties.

Also, Senators Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba South) and Phillip Aduda (FCT), retained their positions as the Deputy Minority Leader and Minority Whip, respectively.

It would be recalled that the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) had earlier named Senator representing Abia South, Enyinnaya Abaribe as the Senate Minority Leader.

The PDP had initially named Senator Clifford Odia (Edo Central) as the Senate Deputy Minority Whip, but later replaced him with Senator Sahabi Yau from Zamfara North.

Leave a Reply