Gov Sule swears-in17 appointees, charges them on transparency



By Joy Odor

Nasarawa State governor, Engineer Abdullahi Sule, has sworn-in a professor of development economics from the state owned varsity, Dr. Rabo Dakare, for Panda development area and 17 others as overseers of the 18 development areas in the state.

Engineer Sule performed the swearing-in ceremony at the late Aliyu Akwe Doma Banquet Hall, on Friday.

The governor charged the appointees on imbibing the tenets of his administration anchored on the principles of transparency, accountability, prudent management of resources and fear of God.

Engineer Sule said the event marked the determination of his administration to bring good governance and entrench development at the grassroots.

He however called on the newly inaugurated overseers not to compete with elected local government chairmen but to seek to become partners in progress.

According to the governor, the overseers were inaugurated to give administrative support to the elected local government chairmen, as well as compliment their development efforts.

He recalled that the development areas were created for administrative convenience and to cater for the growing population by bringing government closer to the grassroots.

“You should work closely with the chairmen of local government areas. Do not see them as competitors, see them as partners in progress,” Engineer Sule advised the overseers.

He equally charged them to synergize with the Ministry for Local Government, Community Development and Chieftaincy Affairs, through their respective local government chairmen, for the smooth realisation of the policies and programmes of his administration.

Earlier, Secretary to the Government of Nasarawa State, Barrister Muhammad Aliyu Ubandoma, said the appointees emerged after due consultations with relevant stakeholders from across the state, in line with the policy thrust on transparency and inclusiveness, being the mantra of the Engineer Sule administration.

The other 17 development area overseers are, Sadiq Akiri- Azara, Yunusa Amwe- Akwanga West, Hon Bello Akoza- Ekye, Mr Haruna Mohammed- Lafia East, Yahuza Ahmadu Na’ allah- Lafia North, Mohammed Baba Abdullahi- Giza, Dauda Danladi Agbo-Dadare and Luka Ayele-Jenkwe.

“Also, Amos Tsaku- Agidi, Moses Anvah- Akun, Shaibu Umar Loko-Loko, Salihu Adamu- Udege-, Ibrahim Arafat- Karshi, Yusuf Samson -Gadabuke, Iliyasu Miryam- Umaisha, Adamu- Omale Agye- Agwada and Solomon Bande- Farin Ruwa,” he said.

Leave a Reply