INEC presents Certificate of Return to 3 Senators, 15 House of Representatives


By Joy Odor

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will on Wednesday present Certificates of Return to the newly elected Federal lawmakers, comprising 3 Senators and 15 Members of the House of Representatives (HOR).

According to Sam Olumekun, the
National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee in a press statement made available to newsmen on Tuesday informed that the presentation of Certificates of Return to the State lawmakers-elect will be conducted by the Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) in the respective States where the bye-elections or re-run elections took place.

He said these presentations are to be arranged by the RECs and are expected to be completed by the end of this week. Elected members are encouraged to liaise with the RECs for further details.

Additionally that detailed results from these elections are now available for public view on the Commission’s official website and social media channels.

Seven political parties won seats in both the National and State Houses of Assembly. They are Action Democratic Party (ADP), All Progressives Congress (APC), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Young Progressive Party (YPP).

Similarly, the Commission also held its regular meeting to deliberate, among other issues, the outcome of the bye-elections and re-run elections conducted last weekend.

Olumekun explained that Bye-elections were held in nine constituencies to fill seats left vacant by the demise or resignation of members elected during the 2023 General Election, both in the National and State Houses of Assembly.

“Additionally, re-run elections took place in 39 constituencies as ordered by the Election Petition Appeal Tribunals.

“The bye-elections were concluded successfully across all designated constituencies, with the exception of the Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency.

“Here, the final declaration was postponed due to over voting in certain Polling Units, impacting the margin of lead between the candidates with the highest number of votes.

“Details of these Polling Units will be published tomorrow.

“Regarding the re-run elections, disruptions occurred at two Polling Units in the Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency of Akwa Ibom State and across all Polling Units in the Enugu South State Constituency of Enugu State and Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency of Kano State, due to violence, thuggery and the hijacking of election materials.

“The Commission had previously suspended the re-run elections in these areas in accordance with Section 24(3) of the Electoral Act 2022.

“Following additional reports from our officials in the affected States, the Commission supports the Returning Officer’s decision to announce results in the Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency, as the number of registered voters in the two Polling Units did not affect the outcome of the election” he noted.

The Commission therefore resolved to conduct a supplementary election in Taraba State and a new re-run election in Enugu State, both scheduled for Wednesday 14th February 2024.

It said due to security concerns, the election in Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency will be held at a later date, after further discussions with security agencies and stakeholders.

INEC urged all eligible voters and stakeholders in the impacted Polling Units in Taraba and Enugu States to participate peacefully in the upcoming elections and support their preferred candidates.

Leave a Reply