Of 100 Senatorial Seat, only 6 women Elected


Of 100 Senatorial Seat, only 6 women Elected

Of the 100 senatorial seats declared so far, six are to be occupied by women and given Certificate of Return.

They are; three new senators (Aisha Dahiru, Adamawa Central; Akon Eyakenyi, Akwa Ibom South; and Uche Ekwunife, Anambra Central) and three returning lawmakers (Oluremi Tinubu of Lagos West, Rose Oko of Cross River North and Stella Oduah of Anambra North).

The presentation of the certificates to the 100 other senators-elect was issued by the lNEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu at the International Conference Center (ICC) in Abuja.

The National Chairman of INEC, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, congratulated the elected Senators in his opening Speech.

Of the 100 senators whose elections have been confirmed by INEC winners, emerged from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), the main opposition, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and the Young Progressives Party (YPP).

The APC won 62, the PDP secured 37 seats, leaving the last one to the YPP.

Out of the 36 states, including the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), the APC has a majority in 23 states.

These are states where the party won at least two of the three senatorial districts available.

These states, most of which are governed by the ruling party, are spread across the North and South-west.

Conspicuously absent at the ceremony was the outgoing Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha, whose election as a Senator is being reviewed by INEC.

Governor Okorocha was declared the winner of the Imo West senatorial election.

The presiding officer, however, said he was forced to make the declaration under duress. It is based on that that the electoral commission removed Mr Okorocha’s name from the elected senators’ list and said it is reviewing the situation in the district.

Leave a Reply