Sen Ajibola Basiru named as new Senate Committee on Media


By Joy Odor

Senator Surajudeen Ajibola Basiru representing Osun Central Senatorial District has been named as the new chairman, Senate Committee on Media and Public Affairs.

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, who made the announcement at the plenary, also named the erstwhile acting spokesman of the upper legislative chamber, Godiya Akwashiki as the new chairman, Senate Committee on Labour and Productivity.

Sen. Basiru, who until his new assignment chairs the Senate Committee on Diaspora, was a former Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice in Osun State.

He also served as Commissioner in the Ministry of Regional Integration & Special Duties from August 2010 – November 2014

Also, Akwashiki was before now the vice chairman, Senate Committee on Media and Public Affairs when the former chairman, Senator Adedayo Adeyeye was the chairman.

Similarly, former Minority Leader, Biodun Olujimi representing Ekiti South Senatorial District is now the chairman, Senate Committee on Diaspora.

A former deputy governor of Ekiti State, Olujimi was a former member of the House of Representatives and a board member of the Nigerian Communication Commission, NCC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here