Senate Confirms New Ambassadorial Nominees, others


By: Joy Odor/ABuja

Senate has confirmed new three ambassadorial nominees as demanded by President Muhammadu Buhari in his communication to the upper legislative chamber earlier in the year.

Similarly, it approved those nominated by President Buhari as chairman and members of the Board of National Bureau of Statistics, NBS.

The confirmation of the ambassadorial nominees followed the report of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs chaired by its chairman, Senator Monsurat Sunmonu, ADC-Oyo Central which had earlier screened the nominees.

The nominees confirmed are Mr. Christopher C. Chejina from Delta State, Mr. Bukar Kolo, Yobe State and Mr. M. A. Mabdul from Benue State, respectively.

Presenting the committee’s report, Senator Sunmonu said all the nominees met criteria to be representatives of the country abroad and therefore recommended their confirmation by the upper legislative chamber.

Also, the Senate has approved the nomination of Dr. Kabiru Nakaura from Katsina State representing North West as the chairman of National Bureau of Statistics and Mr. Akinola I. Bashir from Lagos representing South West, Prof. Moses I. Momoh from Edo for South South, Wallijoh Danladi Ahijoh from Niger for North Central, Adam Modu from Borno for North East and Nwafor Paul Chukwudi from Anambra representing South East as members, respectively.

Their confirmation was sequel to the consideration of the report of the Committee on National Planning and Economic Affairs, chaired by Senator Musa Kwankwaso, PDP-Kano Central.

Presenting the report on behalf of the chairman, Senator Yele Omogunwa, APC-Ondo South, he informed his colleagues that all the nominees are qualified for membership of the Board and therefore recommended their confirmation.

In his remarks, the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, commended the two committees for jobs well done.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here